Lelouch and C.C.

As you may or may not have noticed, I generally dislike doing single episode reviews. However, I think this one at least deserves a brief mention – mostly because it was awesome. Most notably, it shows that Sunrise is in fact capable of scripting and animating battles that aren’t clearly one-sided. The flashbacks were interesting as well; it might prove a worthwhile task to go through them part by part and see what can be inferred. The cute C.C. bit towards the end was a nice change of pace and an excellent way to close the episode. I didn’t watch the episode preview, but I speculate that this will be the beginning of the “meat” of the storyline, so to speak. As I am sure is the case with everyone else, I am highly curious as to what C.C.’s actual name is and of what significance is it to Lelouch.

I wonder how far they’re going to go with the whole anti-hero Lelouch thing. It seems like they’re in a sort of lose/lose situation here; it’d be pretty cheesy and lame if he undergoes some sort of magical conversion and becomes a goody-two-shoes, but it’d also be a little too predictable and boring if he was just a straight-up tragic anti-hero, along the lines of Light from Death Note. We’ll just have to wait and see, I suppose.

Anyway, hope you all had a nice Christmas.

